Skip to content


Talk With A Lawyer Today!

Get Started

What Should You Do If You Caused an Accident While Driving Drunk?

Updated: Feb 13, 2023 @ 11:20 pm

Less than 1 minuteReading Time: Minutes

If you believe you caused a car accident while you were drinking and driving, you will need to begin working with a DWI accident defense lawyer in Texas as soon as possible to do everything you can to beat the charges you are facing or, at the very least, have the charges against you reduced with help from your attorney.

At The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, we know that an evening out with a partner or friends can quickly and unexpectedly result in a devastating accident in which you may be charged with a serious criminal offense if you drive while intoxicated. We also believe that everyone makes mistakes and deserves to have an experienced attorney on their side to build the best defense possible under the circumstance.

When a person causes an accident while drinking and driving, the following are some key things to know.

You Need a DWI Accident Defense Lawyer

While you should have an attorney on your side to help you fight any DWI charges, it is critical to hire a lawyer with experience handling cases similar to yours if you are facing DWI charges in connection with a serious motor vehicle accident. If you do not beat the charges or have the charges reduced with help from your attorney, you could be facing a decades-long prison sentence.

If You Caused an Injury, You Will Face Felony Charges

Anyone in Texas who has been drinking and driving and causes an accident may be facing felony charges.

Under the Texas Penal Code, any DWI accident that results in serious injury to another person or death to another person—whether that person is a passenger in your vehicle or an occupant of another vehicle involved in the collision—will result in a minimum of third-degree felony charges for intoxication assault.

A third-degree felony can still result in up to 10 years in prison if you cause injury to another person.

If another person dies in the crash, you can face charges for intoxication manslaughter, which is a second-degree or first-degree felony offense. At a minimum, you will face charges for a second-degree penalty, which can result in you being sentenced to up to 20 years in prison. The consequences may be more severe if there are aggravating circumstances, such as a prior DWI on your record.

Seek Advice from Our Texas Drunk Driving Accident Defense Attorneys

At The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, we know how critical it is to build the strongest possible defense in your case to avoid serious jail time and other significant consequences of a conviction.

If you are facing intoxication assault or intoxication manslaughter charges under Texas law, do not hesitate to get in touch with our experienced and aggressive DWI accident defense lawyers in Texas to learn more about defense strategies that could be applicable to your case. Contact The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates today for more information about the services we can provide in your defense.

Houston DWI Lawyer Tad A Nelson is Board Certified in Criminal Law by the TBLS.

Contact A Lawyer

Schedule Your Free Consultation Today

Sidebar Contact Form II
Time limit exceeded. Please complete the captcha once again.


Board Certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization
Texas Bar College
State Bar of Texas
Martin Dale Hubbard Client Champion
Rated by Super Lawyers
AV Preeminent Lawyers