DWI with a Child Passenger
A person commits a state jail felony if they are stopped for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) with a passenger under 15 years of age. The penalties for a non-enhanced state jail felony include incarceration for a period no less than 180 days and not more than 2 years, a fine not to exceed $10,000, in addition to the restrictions associated with a third DWI.
Driving While License Suspended (DWLS)
If your license is suspended for any reason and you drive, and are caught, than you will have the following penalties resulting from this Class “B” Misdemeanor. These penalties increase dramatically if you are caught more than once (resulting in a Class “A” Misdemeanor).
- 3-180 Days in jail
- $100 – $500 fine
15 Day DWI Rule
If you are charged with a DWI in the state of Texas, your Driver’s License can be automatically suspended unless a special hearing is requested within 15 days. If you fail to do so, you can lose your driving privileges before your case is resolved. In order to obtain your license back, you must win your DWI case in court or have the charges reduced. It is important to hire an experienced attorney who can represent you in court.
The 15 Day Rule applies to you if:
- Your blood alcohol level (BAC) was over the legal limit
- You refused to take any of the three sobriety tests
- You tried to take the tests, but the officer stated that you refused
- Your were under 21 when arrested and BAC shows any amount of alcohol
- You had a commercial license when arrested and your BAC was .04% or higher
If you have been arrested for a DWI in the state of Texas, immediately contact an experienced DWI attorney who knows the law and can represent you in court.
At the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, our defense attorneys have years of experience handling numerous DWI cases. We arduously prepare for each case and thoroughly investigate for evidence that can be used for your benefit. Our DWI attorneys will fight to protect your rights and pursue a positive outcome.
You only have 15 days to request an administrative hearing. Don’t hesitate to call.
To speak with an experienced DWI lawyer and obtain a free consultation, please contact the Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates today at 713-802-1631. We will provide you with excellent legal service and aggressive representation.