Securing an Occupational Driver License
Texas Driver License Suspended?
Attorney Tad Nelson will get you back on the road.
A Texas Driver License may be revoked for several reasons, including Driving While Intoxicated, Driving Under the Influence, or refusal or failure of a breath/blood/chemical test. The length of the suspension, which is handed down after an ALR hearing (if requested), can vary from 30 days to 2 years depending on the offense and/or recent convictions.
If your license is suspended, you can usually get a license which allows you to drive under limited circumstances. These circumstances include driving to and from work, grocery store, and school. If the court grants you an occupational license, the court will issue an order restricting your driving in the following areas:
- You will only be allowed to drive during designated periods of day and days during the week.
- You will only be allowed to drive for the designated reasons.
- The court order will specify the areas in which you may drive or routes of travel which you may take while using the license.
The court is required to restrict the driving times to no more than four hours in a 24-hour period unless you can show the judge it is necessary for you to drive for longer periods of time. If you can convince the judge that it is necessary, he or she may allow you to drive for up to 12 hours in any 24-hour period.
What if I break the rules?
If you drive in a manner which violates the conditions of your occupational license, or if you fail to have the license in your possession when you drive, you can be convicted of Driving While License Suspended (DWLS), which is a Class “B” Misdemeanor punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. In addition, your license will be automatically revoked for the original period of suspension.
Under certain circumstances, if your license is suspended due to a DWI conviction, the court may require you to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. This device requires you to test your breath for alcohol prior to being able to start the car, plus it logs the time and date of the test and this is recorded for review by your probation officer. The cost of the device and the cost of installation and removal will be paid by the offender, not the state.
There are certain circumstances under which you will not be eligible for an occupational license. Upon your initial interview with the legal team at The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates, we will be able to tell you whether or not you are eligible for an occupational license.
To get started with your free case review, call our office at 281-280-0100 or 713-802-1631.